India Green

By Carla Martens

30 day book challenge – #5 Book you wish you could live in

#5I wonder how many readers would choose this one too? When I was younger I loved the ‘Worst Witch’ books by Jill Murphy, so when ‘Harry Potter’ came along I couldn’t resist. Spells and broomsticks and a boarding school castle, my childish enthusiasm for magic was stirred up all over again.

J.K. Rowling is a genius for being able to write a fantastic story that is suitable for both kids and adults. Who wouldn’t want to live in the first book, where the real danger is still so far away, and all the fun of being able to perform magic is right there in front of you? The author has thought of everything and brought the world of Harry Potter to life so vividly on the page that it is inevitable that it draws you in. As with all books that become movies I’m so glad that I read the book first. A book allows you to interpret the descriptions for yourself and the fictional world builds in your imagination just how you want it.

I was really excited when the Pottermore site was released, but now I’m a little torn. I want to know more about J.K. Rowling’s writing processes and what inspired the characters and the settings for the books, but on the other hand, the story will remain more real in my head if I don’t know too much about the process behind it. And what about the Warner Brothers Studio Tour? I’m very excited to be going and I really don’t think seeing the green screen trickery, and the miniature Hogwarts is going to dent my imagination or my enthusiasm for secretly wishing I could be a witch and live in a magical house like the Burrow where I would never have to do the washing up again.

I love illustrated children’s covers and the shiny red Hogwarts Express seems to jump out at you. The illustration of Dumbledore on the back cover is wonderful. He has a look in his eye that suggests fun and mischief. 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2012 by in Books, Copywriting and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.